Skip to content

Gutter Trash: a Blog that had lost its Way.

March 28, 2012

Hello and Good afternoon

If you are reading this, it’s probably because I’ve been murdered, or at least my blog has.

To be honest, like the Labor Party, it was self-inflicted.

To paraphrase our esteemed Prime Minister, Gutter Trash was a blog that had lost its way. 

It had descended into a scrag fight from which redemption seemed irretrievable.

I suppose I should’ve at least made some sort of announcement that I was going to shut the place down, but those sorts of things always seem so sort of self-serving, and so in a final brain snap I hit the delete button.

It’s quite refreshing really, to be able to start again with a clean slate and without the accumulated baggage of the past.

To anyone I may have disappointed by this somewhat desperate and dramatic act I apologise.

Now that the new place is open, the question is, will anyone show up?

Cheers

reb.

95 Comments leave one →
  1. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 1:16 pm

    G’day!

  2. March 28, 2012 1:27 pm

    Hello TB!

    As our very first commenter, I think you’ve just won a cello-wrapped country and western CD!! Yes, I do still have it!

  3. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 1:29 pm

    LOL! I don’t have a CD player anymore … but as nice thought anyway … can I donate it to TFR as a gesture of goodwill, peace and happiness around the blogworld??

    Congratulations on the sqeaky new slate!

  4. James of North Melbourne permalink
    March 28, 2012 1:29 pm

    *Wanders in, hands in his pockets, and asks……*

    Was it me??

  5. March 28, 2012 1:34 pm

    Thanks TB,

    No it wasn’t you snacty…

    It was me…

    😉

  6. March 28, 2012 1:44 pm

    Love the new name.

  7. March 28, 2012 1:46 pm

    Thanks Ross! And welcome! 🙂

  8. Tony permalink
    March 28, 2012 1:57 pm

    Some cunt fuckwit prick moron person sent me a spam email with a link to this “blog”. 😯

  9. March 28, 2012 2:01 pm

    That must’ve been me!

  10. Tony permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:02 pm

    Oh. Lucky I didn’t abuse anyone then.

  11. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:04 pm

    Let me know when I get my email then 😉

  12. March 28, 2012 2:11 pm

    troublemaker… 😉

  13. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:15 pm

    Don’t be too harsh on Tony reb.

    We might disagree with him, but I wouldn’t call him a troublemaker.

  14. March 28, 2012 2:25 pm

    Can I get a drink around this place?

  15. March 28, 2012 2:28 pm

    Coonawarra Cab Sav ok with you Migs?

    Genuinely pleased to see you here… 🙂

  16. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:32 pm

    Got to admit though, I was glad when I saw this reb

  17. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:43 pm

    Big Party tonight?

    Or will that release too much CO2 … oops … 😯

  18. March 28, 2012 2:44 pm

    And what will be the “new direction” of this blog, moving forward for working families-wise?

  19. March 28, 2012 2:46 pm

    “what will be the “new direction” of this blog, moving forward for working families-wise?”

    Good question, and I’m not really sure I have the answer…

    Contrary to popular belief, I think my politics are fairly centre-left, it’s just that Labor (under Gillard) has taken a dramatic lurch to the right…

    So I don’t really know, I guess we shall see…

  20. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:00 pm

    Labor (under Gillard) has taken a dramatic lurch to the right

    Didn’t they say the same about Hawke/Keating Government

    which I don’t disagree with.

    I don’t see much movement to the right anywhere else, excepting the ‘boat people’ issue.

  21. March 28, 2012 3:15 pm

    “I don’t see much movement to the right anywhere else, excepting the ‘boat people’ issue.”

    I’d suggest that the ‘boat people’ issue is a fairly significant one, of which, Labor has engaged in the same gutter level politics that one would typically expect from the Coalition.

    Gillard’s staunch opposition to marriage equality remains another…

  22. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:28 pm

    Do we ever get a government that we agree with 100% … not in my lifetime …

    The MRRT and the Carbon Tax are passed as legislation but not in play yet …

    The idea that you can whinge and change law is a new one on me …

    Suck it and see I reckon …

  23. March 28, 2012 3:33 pm

    “The idea that you can whinge and change law is a new one on me …”

    Agree! Although it does seem to be the chorus line of the born to rule mob…!

  24. accumulated baggage permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:37 pm

    “…without the accumulated baggage of the past…”

    Not so fast with the assumptions about accumulated baggage.

  25. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:43 pm

    … it does seem to be the chorus line of the born to rule mob…!

    Yeah! Money speaks … manipulates the truth more like … but generally in the direction of The Robber Barons so that they can make more …

    One thing I really, really, dislike is being controlled … in any way by money, sexual favours, old boy/girl networks, religion, governments, which family you were born into, where you come from …

  26. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:45 pm

    Bloody hell! Do I detect a TROLL! Already?

    Make yourself known sir/madam or suffer the consequences! 🙄

  27. March 28, 2012 3:54 pm

    It’s someone from Melbourne.

    Do you need any other hints?

  28. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:57 pm

    Gillard’s staunch opposition to marriage equality remains another

    Is this a change from their previous policy though?

  29. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:02 pm

    Do I detect a TROLL
    It’s someone from Melbourne.

    Good spot TB 😉

  30. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:12 pm

    Oime pretty quick sometimes, TR!

  31. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:13 pm

    The “locked” gravatar is always a clue … 😉

  32. March 28, 2012 4:21 pm

    “Is this a change from their previous policy though?”

    No but it’s not exactly consistent with a party that is supposedly “progressive” is it?

  33. March 28, 2012 4:30 pm

    The Wynns will be adequate. 🙄

  34. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:30 pm

    Considering that gay marriage is actually going to a conscience vote, one would have thought that was actually a small step to the left, rather than any ‘lurch’ to the right?

    We have gone over the ground before that the Labor party is not a dictatorship, haven’t we?

    Baby steps, reb, baby steps.

  35. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:31 pm

    pro·gres·sive [pruh-gres-iv] adjective

    1.
    favoring or advocating progress, change, improvement, or reform, as opposed to wishing to maintain things as they are, especially in political matters: a progressive mayor.

    2.
    making progress toward better conditions; employing or advocating more enlightened or liberal ideas, new or experimental methods, etc.: a progressive community.

    3.
    characterized by such progress, or by continuous improvement.

    4.
    ( initial capital letter ) of or pertaining to any of the Progressive parties in politics.

    5.
    going forward or onward; passing successively from one member of a series to the next; proceeding step by step

  36. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:33 pm

    adequate

    Toffs!

    Where’s tha bloody Coopers!

  37. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:33 pm

    The Wynns will be adequate

    So what’s your poison, Miggsy?

    http://www.wynns.net/ind_oiltreatments.aspx

  38. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:35 pm

    going forward or onward; passing successively from one member of a series to the next; proceeding step by step

    Sounds like this Government, no matter how often the opposition want to deny it.

    The proof is in the policies.

    Or the BISONS 🙂

    http://afrankview.net/2012/03/more-australian-bisons-than-ever/

  39. March 28, 2012 4:39 pm

    Tom R, the only reason Gillard has agreed to a so-called “conscience vote” is because she knows it will be defeated…

    “Senator [Doug] Cameron said he could not see that giving gays the same rights as anybody else was a matter for a conscience vote. ”It’s a matter of fairness, equality and the right thing.”

    Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/national/left-figures-oppose-conscience-vote-on-gay-marriage-20111109-1n7fg.html#ixzz1qO3mTm4t

  40. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:40 pm

    … especially in political matters: a progressive mayor

    I chuckled at the last phrase …

  41. armchair opinionator permalink
    March 28, 2012 5:11 pm

    “Senator [Doug] Cameron said he could not see that giving gays the same rights as anybody else was a matter for a conscience vote. ”It’s a matter of fairness, equality and the right thing.”

    exactly, since when is human equality a matter of conscience for some people to bestow upon others. I’m so sick of this right wing world that I have to live in, the haters and the selfish. I have to bite my tongue at work sometimes, I nearly say what I really think (and that would have some in tears).

    I do like it when douggie speaks out against the Labor conservatives.

    (I still can’t login to wordpress, that is giving me the shits too!)

  42. armchair opinionator permalink
    March 28, 2012 5:13 pm

    Baby steps, reb, baby steps.

    No, f*ck em, they’ve had forever.

  43. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 5:19 pm

    No, f*ck em, they’ve had forever.

    lol

  44. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 5:37 pm

    No, f*ck em, they’ve had forever.

    So what do you really think, KL? 😀

  45. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 5:43 pm

    The Moderator seems nice …

  46. March 28, 2012 5:58 pm

    “No, f*ck em, they’ve had forever.”

    I couldn’t have said it better myself!!

  47. March 28, 2012 6:17 pm

    Tom R would know about baby steps. He first took his about 10 years ago. :mrgreen:

  48. March 28, 2012 6:33 pm

    Weird. I figured he was at least 13 or 14…

  49. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 6:34 pm

    He was a slow walker … ?

  50. March 28, 2012 6:45 pm

    Addiction is a terrible thing…

    When are we going to start treating it as a medical concern rather than a criminal one…?

    http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/ben-cousins-arrested-over-drug-possession-in-esperance-20120328-1vyfb.html

  51. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:14 pm

    He was a slow walker … ?

    I DIAGREE!!

    oh… walker..

    fair enuf 😉

  52. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:19 pm

    When are we going to start treating it as a medical concern rather than a criminal one…?

    When other people’s habits dont impact on me and my family … ?

  53. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:20 pm

    neologism!!!!!!

    DIAGREE!!

  54. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:22 pm

    When are we going to start treating it as a medical concern rather than a criminal one…?

    How should it be treated? (I agree with your statement BTW)

  55. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:27 pm

    neologism??

    If we made up a word every time I fucked up on the keyboard, we’d be hitting critical mass about now TB 🙂

  56. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:32 pm

    Me too … between us we could write, The New Neology Lexicon …

  57. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:36 pm

    First thing we need to carify is, will upper case and lower case denote entorely different meanings.

    I’m leaning to supporting that DICTUM 🙂

  58. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:41 pm

    Could you ezplaun your last pist> TR

  59. Tom R permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:56 pm

    How did you know I wuz pist? 😯

    Where’s the bloody camera 😎 😯

  60. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 8:12 pm

    Do you really want me to answr thet, TR?

  61. March 28, 2012 8:17 pm

    probably nit TB

    although, if I had an indication of where it might be, I could position my best side (or should I say, not worst side)

  62. Neil of Sydney permalink
    March 28, 2012 8:44 pm

    So Guttertrash is dead.

    I went looking for our old posts and they have disappeared. I did not think it was possible to delete things from the internet. i thought the posts are on the net forever.

    This means my great words of wisdom have been lost to mankind.

  63. March 28, 2012 8:46 pm

    “This means my great words of wisdom have been lost to mankind.”

    Yes, I know Neil..

    Imagine how I feel……… *sigh*

  64. Tony permalink
    March 28, 2012 9:02 pm

    There should be a compulsory 24 hour delay on the blog-delete button, for obvious reasons.

  65. Tony permalink
    March 28, 2012 9:06 pm

    Then again, the comments section on this blog looks eerily similar to the last one. Delete early, and delete often!

  66. March 28, 2012 9:36 pm

    I don’t quite know what you mean Tony, and I’m sorry if I’ve misunderstood you…

    I’m really just trying to build some bridges here…

    And killing off GT was a big decision for me, but it seems, given some of the subsequent feedback I have received, it was not such a bad decision.

  67. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 9:44 pm

    Nah, I’m happy to lose my words of wisdom … and they’re even more important than, The Neils ….

    I like greenslate starts …

  68. TB Queensland permalink
    March 28, 2012 9:47 pm

    Then again, the comments section on this blog looks eerily similar to the last one.

    maybe,sreb, could change the scrolling down/up, to sideways, like the new Windows 8 …

    It works for … Global Mail …

    http://www.theglobalmail.org/

  69. March 28, 2012 9:47 pm

    “I like greenslate starts …”

    Me too…!!

  70. March 29, 2012 10:07 am

    Howdy reb.

    Nice place you’ve got here…and off to such a good start.
    Let’s hope the usual suspects don’t trash the joint.

  71. March 29, 2012 10:13 am

    Thanks Massive, nice to see you here! 🙂

  72. March 29, 2012 10:44 am

    Nice to be here… *breathes in* Just smell that fresh air.

  73. shaneinqld permalink
    March 29, 2012 1:39 pm

    Hi Reb

    Just a quick comment to wish you best of luck with the new site.

    I hope the bridges you mention can be mended.

    Cheers

  74. March 29, 2012 1:51 pm

    Hi Shane,

    Thanks! Nice to see you here… 🙂

    I’m hopeful that bridges can be mended, life is too short to harbour resentment…

    I hope to see you here now and then…

    Cheers
    reb.

  75. Tom permalink
    March 30, 2012 10:56 am

    TFR seems nice. We’ll see about that!

    I’ve had a busy few days. Hobart for a couple of days. Nice place, pity about the people.

    Today – the dull end of Australia – Adelaide. Why don’t people choose to live in a real city? It’s like an up market Perth, with slightly better access to civilisation.

  76. March 30, 2012 6:43 pm

    😯

  77. March 30, 2012 6:44 pm

    It takes a lot of effort to be angry/outraged/hold a grudge.

    I don’t think it’s particularly healthy, either.

    So, I get it.

  78. March 30, 2012 6:49 pm

    “So, I get it.”

    Thanks Boss… You’re spot on…

    It’s time to start afresh…

    And it’s very heartening to see Miglo here as one of the first posters… We’re on the mend, and I think a new clean slate was necessary…

    I won’t be tolerating any crap from anyone that simple wants to dwell on the past…

    I really don’t have the time nor the energy for that sort of shit…

    It’s time to just move on…..

  79. March 30, 2012 6:56 pm

    My hands aren’t entirely clean but I’m happy to revoke any ill will which I have projected.

    That’s what jeebus would do.

    still full of loathing for the mayor, though, but won’t beat that dead horse any more, promise

  80. March 30, 2012 7:05 pm

    Believe me Boss, you have NOTHING to apologise for….!

    “Jaws,” on the other hand is on notice… 😉

  81. March 30, 2012 7:08 pm

    Ahhhh! starting to put the pieces together!

    But, yeah. I should (and do) apologise.

    Things got a little tribal over time…& I make every effort not to be that way in my ‘real’ life. So to miglo or anyone else to whom it’s appropriate, I apologise. except about Port Power

  82. JAWS permalink
    March 30, 2012 7:15 pm

    I take it you like babies

  83. TB Queensland permalink
    March 30, 2012 7:23 pm

    The Blogmasta studied the bible, JAWS … he knows King Herrod personally … little fkn Jewish Jummy!

  84. March 30, 2012 7:23 pm

    Not at all.

    I had one once, which I tolerated until it got big enough to talk & do cool stuff. I like it much better now.

  85. March 30, 2012 7:35 pm

    Or was that “king rat”?

    “jaws” you’re on notice (just in case you hadn’t noticed)…. 😉

  86. TB Queensland permalink
    March 30, 2012 7:38 pm

    No! 😯

  87. shaneinqld permalink
    March 30, 2012 7:46 pm

    Reb

    I am so glad you moved on and started a fresh site. Congratulations

    I was always a fan of your blogs as you know. You have made me laugh out loud so many times. Even your disclaimer on this site made me laugh. I suggest that those who have not bothered actually read it.

    I am happy that Miglo dropped in as well, as I believe there is room for both sites as there are plenty of topics to cover.

    New site, new day, new start.

  88. Bacchus permalink
    March 30, 2012 7:55 pm

    toilet dude,

    If I remember correctly, your “baby” is one of the female variety? Not sure of her age, but I do remember my female offspring being a lot of fun until a certain few years in her teens 👿

    If yours follows a similar path, you’ll be pleased to know that mine came out the other side as a delightful young woman 🙂

  89. Bacchus permalink
    March 30, 2012 7:56 pm

    And what Shane said 🙂

  90. March 30, 2012 8:39 pm

    Thanks Shane, that’s very kind.. 🙂

  91. March 30, 2012 8:42 pm

    Personally, I’m just glad that you all showed up….!!!

  92. Darth permalink
    April 2, 2012 10:54 am

    This means my great words of wisdom have been lost to mankind.- Neil Of Sydney

    If only it was true ………….!

    This might help for pre 2010

    http://wayback.archive.org/web/20110415000000*/http://guttertrash.wordpress.com

  93. Meta permalink
    April 5, 2012 4:09 am

    While I’m here, Reb, may I acknowledge and congratulate an election for renewal.

  94. September 11, 2013 9:03 pm

    thanks for sharing, very informative topic you have discussed here.

    gutter downspouts

  95. December 7, 2015 5:57 pm

    thank you for sharing such an useful posts on gutter

Go on say something...

